Welcome to the Sturt CFS Group website. The aim of this website is to support the Sturt CFS Group’s mission and communicate that mission with the local community.

The Country Fire Service (CFS) is responsible for providing emergency fire and rescue services to the majority of South Australia. The CFS area of responsibility extends from the suburbs of Adelaide to the most remote parts of the state. The CFS responds to the entire range of emergency situations including

  • Vehicle accidents
  • Spills of hazardous substances
  • Fire alarms
  • Wildfires (grass scrub forest)
  • Domestic fires
  • Industrial fires

In attending and dealing with such emergencies the CFS aims to protect life, property and the environment. To facilitate the management of such a large area covered by the CFS the state has been divided up into regions. These regions are further divided into groups of brigades. The Sturt Group is located in CFS region 1 which covers the Mt Lofty rangers and Kangaroo Island.

Sturt Group comprises of 5 individual brigades, a total of 12 fire appliances and approximately 180 volunteers. Brigades with in the group respond to around 260 emergency incidents per year.

The area covered by the Sturt Group extends through the hills south of Adelaide from Urrbrae in the north to Scott Creek in the south. This area contains a mixture of land uses including urban housing, light industrial, rural farmland and native vegetation. This diverse land usage results in a wide range of different emergencies. The mixture of urban housing and native vegetation within Sturt Group area represents among the highest bushfire risk areas in South Australia.